National Harbours Board. The board was established by an act of Parliament in 1936 (RSC 1970, c.N-8). It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St. John's, Nfld.; Halifax, NS; Saint John and Belledune, NB; Sept-Îles, Chicoutimi, Baie-des-Ha! Ha!, Quebec, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Churchill, Man.; Vancouver and Prince Rupert, BC; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Library of Canada. The National Library came formally into existence on January 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1970, c.N-11). It publishes Canadiana, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Branch maintains the Canadian Union Catalogue which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the 10 provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. The library's own bookstock totals more than 500,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Museums of Canada. The National Museums of Canada is a departmental Crown corporation established April 1, 1968, by the National Museums Act (RSC 1970, c.N-12) to join under one administration the National Gallery of Canada; the National Museum of Man (including the Canadian War Museum); the National Museum of Natural Sciences; and the National Museum of Science and Technology (including the National Aeronautical Collection). The corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The National Museums Corporation is governed by a board of trustees, consisting of a chairman, vicechairman and 12 members, as well as two ex officio members - the Director of the Canada Council and the President of the National Research Council. The Secretary General is responsible for directing and managing the business of the corporation except for those matters which are the responsibility of the board, or of the four museum directors. Museum directors are responsible to the board for the overall

activities of their respective operations.

The purposes of the corporation, according to the act, are "to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein through Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof". The corporation is empowered to collect, classify, preserve and display objects; undertake or sponsor research; arrange for and sponsor travelling exhibitions of materials in, or related to, its collections and to arrange for the publication or acquisition and the sale to the public of books, pamphlets, replicas and other relevant materials; undertake or sponsor programs for the training of persons in the professions and skills involved in the operation of museums; arrange for or provide professional and technical services to other organizations whose purposes are similar to any of those of the corporation on such terms and conditions as may be approved by the minister; and generally to do and authorize such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the purposes of the corporation and the exercise of its powers.

National Parole Board. The board was established in 1959 by the Parole Act (RSC 1970, c.P-2), which gives it absolute authority for parole of inmates under sentence of imprisonment imposed under an act of Parliament or for criminal contempt of court. The board has jurisdiction over all matters of federal parole except sentences for murder. In such cases eligibility is possible after a stipulated time between 10 and 25 years has been served. The board is composed of a chairman and 18 other members appointed by Order in Council. It reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General of Canada.

National Research Council of Canada. This is an agency of the federal government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors associate committees coordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. The federal government has designated NRC as the coordinating body for the further development of a national scientific and technical information system under the general direction of the National Librarian. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in international scientific unions. Patentable inventions developed in the council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited. The National Research Council consists of a president, three vice-presidents and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. NRC is incorporated under the National Research Council Act (RSC 1970, c.N-14) and reports to Parliament through a designated minister.

Northern Canada Power Commission. The commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1948 (RSC 1970, c.N-21) to provide power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the act was amended in 1950 to give the